Ethical, high-quality sourcing at the heart of Groupe Berkem’s offering

The sourcing policy is one of Groupe Berkem’s long-standing areas of expertise, and it has developed human, technological and technical resources to guarantee the excellent quality of these raw materials. To achieve greater independence, the Groupe Berkem is committed to finding and securing its supply sources, maintaining its production capacity and serving its clients with reliable plant-based solutions.

To meet market needs, the Groupe Berkem is committed to a socially responsible approach, promoting sustainable partnerships with plant producers and undertaking to:

  • Gaining greater independence in plant sourcing by favouring direct sourcing from growers and maintaining production volumes
  • Encouraging short supply chains to reduce the ecological impact of producing and transporting living, seasonal products, in a bid to preserve their quality
  • Supporting producers by creating long-term partnerships that guarantee stability and visibility for fairer trade
  • Respecting the properties of plants by rapidly transforming them in its production chain, whether for blending and extraction or freeze-drying, services which are fully integrated into the Groupe Berkem’s offering
  • Enhancing the value of plants by encouraging upcycling, wherever possible, and by endeavouring to use all parts of plants to extract the best from them
  • Constantly improving its formulations by seeking out new active molecules of interest in plants as part of an innovative Research & Development approach, and to be a source of proposals for manufacturers

Transparent sourcing for each market

Groupe Berkem uses different parts of plants which are carefully selected for the active molecules they contain. After being harvested and processed, they are dried to preserve them longer and make them easier to transport. Plant cultivation scrupulously respects the seasonal nature of each part of the plant, as well as its production time.

Sourcing for Construction & Materials

Thanks to its expertise in formulation, its mastery of regulatory aspects and constant drive for innovation, Groupe Berkem also designs solutions tailored to markets linked to the Construction & Materials business area. Wood protection products and paint resins are formulated from bark and seed oils. The sourcing of these plants plays a crucial role in the quality and performance of our products.

Pôle Construction & Matériaux

Sourcing for Health, Beauty & Nutrition

To meet the needs of the Health, Beauty & Nutrition business area, Groupe Berkem offers its expertise in plant extraction and develops bio-based ingredients for cosmetics and nutraceutical products. To guarantee the quality of its powder extracts, active ingredients and floral waters, plant sourcing is carefully monitored. The flowers, seeds, leaves, roots and bark used comply with specifications and quality standards that guarantee the transparency and traceability of the raw materials.

When it comes to nutrition and textured proteins, Biopress uses organic soya beans grown in south-west France. These raw materials, sourced from local farms, come from short circuits.

Pôle Santé, Beauté & Nutrition

Sourcing for Hygiene & Protection

To meet the challenges of the Hygiene & Protection business area, Groupe Berkem designs solutions specifically adapted to disinfection, wood preservation and protection activities in the agricultural sector. The aim of the offer is to protect people, places, materials and food against pests and fungi, while reducing the environmental impact of products. SYNERKEM ® technology, developed from roots, flowers and leaves, enables plants to over-activate active substances. It can be used to provide specific properties that are effective against biological agents, while reducing the environmental impact of formulations. Groupe Berkem is also able to supply formulators with ingredients that benefit from transparent sourcing, guaranteeing excellent quality raw materials.

Pôle Hygiène & Protection

Sourcing for Industry

To meet the needs of industrial markets, Groupe Berkem has created specifically adapted solutions, such as the synthesis of alkyd resins for the printing ink market. Vegetable oils, essential components in the formulation of these resins, require clean, transparent and local sourcing to protect them from international fluctuations. The raw materials used, such as seed, linseed, sunflower, Chinese wood and oilseed oils, are methodically selected to guarantee their supply and quality within the formulations.

Pôle Industrie

Un sourcing éthique de qualité, au cœur de l’offre de Groupe Berkem

La politique de sourcing est un savoir-faire historique de Groupe Berkem qui développe des moyens humains, technologiques et techniques pour garantir une excellente qualité de ces matières premières. Pour gagner en indépendance, le Groupe Berkem s’attache à trouver et sécuriser ses filières d’approvisionnement, pour maintenir sa capacité de production, et servir ses clients avec ses solutions végétales fiables.

Pour répondre aux besoins des marchés, Groupe Berkem s’inscrit dans une démarche sociétale, valorisant les partenariats durables avec les producteurs de végétaux et s’engage à :

  • Gagner en indépendance sur l’approvisionnement des végétaux en favorisant un sourcing direct chez les producteurs et maintenant ses volumes de production
  • Favoriser les filières courtes pour réduire l’impact écologique lié à la production et aux transport des matières vivantes et saisonnières, afin de préserver leur qualité
  • Soutenir les producteurs en créant des partenariats à longs termes qui permettent de garantir stabilité et visibilité pour un commerce plus équitable
  • Respecter les propriétés des végétaux en les transformant rapidement dans sa chaîne de production, que ce soit pour le coupage et l’extraction mais aussi pour la lyophilisation, services complètement intégrés à l’offre de Groupe Berkem
  • Valoriser les végétaux en favorisant, lorsque c’est possible, l’upcycling et en s’attachant à utiliser toutes les parties des végétaux pour en extraire le meilleur
  • Faire constamment évoluer les formulations en allant chercher de nouvelles molécules actives d’intérêts dans les végétaux dans une démarche de Recherche & Développement innovante, et d’être force de propositions pour les industriels

 

Un sourcing transparent pour chacun des marchés

Groupe Berkem utilise différentes parties des plantes qui sont minutieusement choisies pour les molécules actives qu’elles contiennent. Après avoir été récoltées puis traitées elles sont séchées pour être conservées plus longtemps et transportées plus facilement. La culture des végétaux respecte scrupuleusement la saisonnalité de chaque partie des plantes ainsi que le temps de production de ces dernières.

Sourcing pour Construction & Matériaux

Grâce à un savoir-faire dans la formulation, une maîtrise des aspects réglementaires et une envie constante d’innovations, Groupe Berkem conçoit également des solutions adaptées aux marchés liés au pôle d’activités Construction & Matériaux. Les produits de protection du bois et les résines pour peintures sont formulés à partir d’écorces et d’huiles de graines. Le sourcing de ces végétaux jouent un rôle primordial dans la qualité et la performance des produits.

Pôle Construction & Matériaux

Sourcing pour la Santé, Beauté & Nutrition

Pour répondre aux besoins des marchés du pôle d’activités Santé, Beauté & Nutrition, Groupe Berkem propose son expertise en extraction végétale et développe des ingrédients biosourcés pour les produits cosmétiques et nutraceutiques. Pour garantir la qualité de ses extraits en poudres, actifs et eaux florales, le sourcing des plantes est particulièrement contrôlé. Les fleurs, pépins, feuilles, racines et écorces utilisés respectent des cahiers des charges et des standards de qualité qui garantissent la transparence et la traçabilité des matières premières.

Concernant la nutrition et les protéines texturées, Biopress utilise des graines de soja bio, cultivées dans le sud-ouest de la France. Ces matières premières issues d’exploitations agricoles locales proviennent de circuits courts.

Pôle Santé, Beauté & Nutrition

Sourcing pour l’Hygiène & Protection

Pour répondre aux enjeux des marchés du pôle d’activités Hygiène & Protection, Groupe Berkem conçoit des solutions spécifiquement adaptées aux marchés de la désinfection, de la préservation du bois et de la protection des cultures agricoles. L’offre a pour objectif de protéger les personnes, lieux, matériaux et aliments contre les nuisibles et les champignons en diminuant l’impact environnemental des produits. La technologie SYNERKEM ®, élaborée à partir de racines, fleurs et feuilles, permet, par le végétal, de suractiver les substances actives. Son utilisation permet d’apporter des propriétés spécifiques et efficaces face aux agents biologiques tout en réduisant l’impact environnemental des formulations. Aussi, Groupe Berkem a la capacité de fournir, aux formulateurs, des ingrédients qui bénéficient d’un sourcing transparent garantissant une excellente qualité de matières premières.

Pôle Hygiène & Protection

Sourcing pour l’Industrie

Pour répondre aux besoins des marchés de l’Industrie Groupe Berkem a créé des solutions spécifiquement adaptées comme la synthèse de résines alkydes pour le marché des encres d’imprimerie par exemple. Les huiles végétales, composantes indispensables à la formulation de ces résines, nécessitent un sourcing propre, transparent et local pour se protéger des fluctuations internationales. Les matières premières utilisées, comme les huiles de graines, lin, tournesol, bois de Chine, huiles d’oléagineux sont méthodiquement sélectionnées pour garantir leur approvisionnement et leur qualité au sein des formulations.

Pôle Industrie